labelsdanax.blogg.se

Gothic metal songs
Gothic metal songs







I realize that's kind of an unpopular opinion.) My Dying Bride/Paradise Lost/Anathema (I personally never consider the Peaceville Three for anything just because I think their gothic/doom stuff was never very good.Epica (my instinct says Cry to the Moon, because it's their biggest song from their debut, which had quite a bit of gothic influence on it).(it's like the platonic ideal of 90s beauty and the beast gothic metal, I just don't really know how popular that one song is)Īnd I also have artists that I think should be on the list, but I wasn't sure which song. Plus, everyone knows it, and the success of Evanescence changed the sound of gothic metal a lot in the mid-2000s).

#Gothic metal songs license#

Evanescence - Bring Me to Life (Evanescence's place in this genre has always been a contentious one, but since one of the guys from My Dying Bride called them similar but commercial (albeit, in a derogatory way), I took it as a license to kill.The Third and the Mortal - Why So Lonely (see justification for Strange Machines).The Gathering - Strange Machines (not gothic metal, but super influential/important).That being said, I also have some "controversial" picks: Within Temptation - Ice Queen (I knew there had to be a WT song, I just wasn't exactly sure which).After Forever - My Pledge of Allegiance - The Sealed Fate.Tristania - Beyond the Veil (there's gotta be a Tristania song in there, I just don't know which).Theatre of Tragedy - A Hamlet for a Slothful Vassel.Gothic metal is kind of a dead genre, so I probably don't have to say this, but: Iconic to me implies that it has stood the test of time, so nothing released in the 2010s should even be conisdered. What songs from the last 30-ish years do you think are THE iconic songs of gothic metal? Like, the songs that, without controversy, are accepted as the ones that everyone loves (or at least knows) as long as they've been listening to gothic metal for any meaningful amount of time? Join the Reddit Metal IRC at #reddit-metal on.Release The Bats gothic punk, rock, metal, etc. If downvoting literal spam, please report it too, so that we are alerted and can remove it. Please don't use the downvote as an "I disagree" button, it's here to filter out stuff that doesn't belong. No direct links to illegal/pirated content. If you need to post an image, please include it as part of a fleshed out self post. At its best, Gothic Metal combines the aggression and ponderous feeling of Doom Metal with the melodramatic imagery and musical style of Gothic Rock.Īll content is welcome as long as it's related to gothic metal, but any music that's not explicitly gothic metal must be specified in the title. With Doom Metal at its roots, Gothic Metal is defined by dark, depressed, passionate, and romantic themes, often incorporating Romantic Era musical elements.







Gothic metal songs